Select Page
(l-r: Dr. Digvir Jayas (Vice-President Research, University of Manitoba), Dr. Annette Schultz, Dr. David Barnard (President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Manitoba)Photo by Mike Latschislaw, University of Manitoba

Congratulations to Dr. Annette Schultz, Principal Investigator in the Psychosocial Oncology and Cancer Nursing Research Group on receiving an Rh Award for “Outstanding Contributions to Scholarship and Research in the Health Sciences Category.”

Dr. Schultz receives the award for a program of research that spans three areas: tobacco dependence issues within health care services and policies; youth resolve to remain smoke free; and equity, social justice and rights-based premises in tobacco issues. Dr. Schultz recognizes various struggles surrounding tobacco dependence experienced by both tobacco users and tobacco control advocates. Her health care services and policy studies focus on asking difficult questions of practice contexts with the intention of opening dialogue concerning unintended policy consequences and challenging our vision for tobacco dependence treatment. Her published work focused on youth resolve to remain smoke free generated evidence to support the current national trend of smoking bans in cars with youth as passengers. She recognizes current inequities in tobacco use rates, which underlies her integration of a social justice lens. She has built a national reputation as an emerging leader in tobacco control, across academic and end user communities.

The Rh Awards were established in 1973 by the Winnipeg Rh Institute, now the Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation, from funds set aside from the sale and production of medical formulae. These honours are given to academic staff members who are in the early stages of their careers and who display exceptional innovation, leadership and promise in their respective fields. Each winner receives $10,000 to support his or her research program. Typically, one award is given in each of the following areas: applied sciences, creative works, health sciences, humanities, interdisciplinary studies, natural sciences and social sciences.