Select Page

Dr. Naranjan Dhalla, distinguished professor of physiology, University of Manitoba, and director of cardiovascular developments, St-Boniface Hospital Research, recently received a lifetime achievement award from the Amity Institute of Pharmacy in Uttar Pradesh, India.  The award was presented by Amity University president Dr. Ashok Chauhan, for “Outstanding contribution in the area of subcellular and molecular basis of heart function in health and disease”.

Also receiving a lifetime achievement award was Dr. James Willerson, MD, president and medical director, director of Cardiology Research, and co-director of the Cullen Cardiovascular Research Laboratories at Texas Heart Institute (THI). Included among his many accomplishments are thirteen patents related to his work in coronary heart disease and detecting vulnerable plaques.

The awards were presented on the occasion of the International Conference on Recent Advances in Cardiovascular Sciences and Translational Medicine.

Additional awards presented:

Outstanding Contribution in Cardiovascular Science Award, presented to Dr. Grant Pierce, Executive Director of Research, St. Boniface Hospital, and professor of physiology, University of Manitoba.

Research Excellence and Innovation Award, presented to Dr. Pawan Singal, Director, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Research and professor of physiology, University of Manitoba.  While in India, Dr. Singal was also guest of honour and keynote speaker at Punjab University, Chandigarh.