Select Page

Four students representing labs from the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences here at St. Boniface Hospital Research, swept up honours in three of the major award categories, and in the oncology category. The awards were issued at the 32nd Annual Canadian Student Health Research Forum at HSC, June 10-14.

Not only did the ICS students dominate in terms of winning major awards, but Navid Koleini also took home the most prestigious prize of this event — The E. L. Drewry Memorial Award, the highest honour conferred upon a senior doctoral student of Max Rady College of Medicine.

“Indeed, I am very humbled having received the Drewry memorial award! It wouldn’t be possible without tireless efforts and great mentorship from my PhD supervisor Prof. Elissavet Kardami,” Navid exclaimed shortly after his win.

All the recipients are as follows:

Navid Koleini (Kardami Lab) The E. L. Drewry Memorial Award, & the St. Boniface Hospital Research Foundation Cardiovascular Award.

Chantal Asselin – Caroline A. Cope Award for Excellence in Oncology Research (Jassal Lab & Singal Lab)

Ejlal Abu-El-Rub – Manitoba Medical Service Foundation PhD Award – (Dhingra Lab)

Glen Sequiera – Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba Pediatrics & Child Health Award (Dhingra Lab)

Congratulations to all!

Pictured above [L-R]: Glen Sequiera, Ejlal Abu-El-Rub, Chantal Asselin, Navid Koleini