Select Page

Attended by leading cardiovascular researchers from 16 countries, the International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences (IACS) held its European and North American section meetings in Banja Luka in the Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina, on September 20-23, 2021.

With dozens of presentations, keynote speakers and a presidential address held over 25 sessions, participants were able to exchange their scientific ideas, renew the existing and forge new friendships. Several important awards were presented, including major recognition to three St. Boniface Hospital Researchers as follows:

The Naranjan Dhalla Honorary Lecture Award to Dr. Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Director, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Research.


“I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the IACS awards committee for bestowing upon me the prestigious Naranjan Dhalla Lectureship Award during the European Section meeting of the IACS in Banja Luka Serbia 2021. I am very honoured to have received this award and very humbled by receiving the award named after the patriarch of the Academy Dr. Naranjan Dhalla who is a true visionary, builder and academician,” Kirshenbaum shared as a virtual participant.

The Jan Slezak Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Sciences to Dr. Michael Czubryt, Executive Director Research, St. Boniface Hospital.

“I am very proud to be recognized by the International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences with the Jan Slezak Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Sciences. I have known and respected Dr. Slezak for many years, and it is particularly gratifying to receive this award named after him,” Czubryt who attended virtually, said.

The Roberto Bolli Young Investigator Award to Dr. Inna Rabinovich-Nikitin, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences.

“I am very honored to receive the Roberto Bolli Young Investigator Award. This is a very proud moment for me, and I’m grateful for the opportunity I had to present our work on women’s heart health and circadian rhythm. This achievement would not be possible without the support, help and mentorship of Dr. Kirshenbaum, for which I sincerely express my heartiest thankfulness. I would also like to express my gratitude to CIHR for being the funding agency for my postdoctoral fellowship,” Rabinovich-Nikitin shared.

Additionally, Dr. Naranjan S Dhalla received the Medal of Merit of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Banja Luka, and visiting Professorship, along with Dr. Grant Pierce, who was also named a visiting professor.

Congratulations to all!  

For more details, be sure to download your copy of the September edition of CV Network.