Select Page

On November 2nd, 2023, the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences at St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre, in partnership with the University of Manitoba, celebrated the 25th Anniversary of the annual Naranjan Dhalla Awards Day. The two-day event, comprised of a scientific forum and awards ceremony, recognizes the leadership of individuals who profoundly influenced the advancement of cardiovascular medicine worldwide. The awards program also recognizes early-career investigators
and individuals who contributed in a major way to the growth of St. Boniface Hospital and the Institute of
Cardiovascular Sciences.

The Awards are named after some of Manitoba’s most iconic leaders in medicine, research and health education: Dr. R.E. Beamish, Mr. Ken Bowman, Dr. John Foerster, Dr. Vincenzo Panagia, Mr. Jack Litvack, Dr. Arnold Naimark, Dr. Henry Friesen, Sr. Jacqueline St-Yves, Mr. Ken Dhalla, Dr. James McGoey, and Dr. T. Edward Cuddy.

“We were pleased to honour several leaders of the cardiovascular community this year for their stalwart efforts in promoting research, education, and lifetime commitment to advancing patient care. We are especially pleased to honour students and trainees in the early stages of their career,” said Dr. Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Director, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences.

“The Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences is internationally recognized for the work of its researchers in basic and clinical cardiovascular medicine, and is a leading force in the fight against heart disease,” said Dr. Michael
Czubryt, Executive Director of Research, St. Boniface Hospital.

Congratulations to the following recipients of these major awards:

Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences Gold Medal

Dr. Jean-Lucien Rouleau
Montreal, Canada

Dr. Robert Beamish Leadership Award

Dr. Metin Avkiran
London, England

Mr. Ken Bowman Research Achievement Award

Dr. Asa Gustafsson
San Diego, USA

Dr. John Foerster Distinguished Lecture Award

Dr. Jianyi “Jay” Zhang
Birmingham, USA

Dr. Vincenzo Panagia Distinguished Lecture Award

Dr. Zamaneh Kassiri
Edmonton, Canada

Mr. Jack Litvack Exemplary Service Award

Wyrzykowski Family
Winnipeg, Canada

Dr. Henry Friesen Young Scientist Award

Sikta Chattopadhyaya
Winnipeg, Canada

Sr. Jacqueline St-Yves Publication Award

Dr. Rimpy Dhingra
Winnipeg, Canada

Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences Award for Master’s Student

Darya Nematisouldaragh
Winnipeg, Canada

Dr. T. Edward Cuddy Student Award

Sargun Rehsia
Winnipeg, Canada

Dr. James S. McGoey Student Award

Hannah Miles
Winnipeg, Canada